Campaign for European Parliament election starts today

Fifteen Romanian political groupings and eight independent candidates seek to get MEP seats at the elections for the EP due on May 25.

The campaign for the European Parliament elections starts today; the candidates to MEP positions have 30 days to convince the voters about their merits as representatives in the European institutions over the next five years.
The campaign ends at 7 a.m. on May 24; more than 18,300,000 voters are called to the polls between 7 a.m. and 9 p.m. on May 25.
As many as 18,532 polling stations will be set up on Romania’s territory for the European Parliament elections; Romanian citizens can vote abroad in 190 polling stations. According to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the polling stations abroad will be set up in the premises of Romania’s diplomatic and consular missions, of the cultural institutes abroad, and in the theatres of operations in Afghanistan. The Permanent Electoral Authority has decided that 18,303,915 citizens with voting rights are listed in the permanent voting lists drafted at the administration and territorial units.
Fifteen Romanian political groupings and eight independent candidates seek to get a MEP’s seat at the elections for the European Parliament due on May 25. Running in the elections are candidates of the electoral Alliance of the PSD-UNPR-PC (Social-Democratic Party, the National Union for the Progress of Romania and the Conservative Party), the National Liberal Party (PNL), the Hungarian Democratic Union of Romania (UDMR), the Democratic Liberal Party (PDL), the Dan Diaconescu – People’s Party (PP-DD), the People’s Movement Party, the Christian Democratic National Peasant Party (PNTCD), the Civic Force, the Socialist Alternative, the National Farmers Alliance, the Greater Romania Party, the Green Party, the New Republic Party, the Social Justice Party and the Romanian Ecologist Party.

Also contesting the elections are the independent candidates Pericle Iulian Capsali, Paul Purea, Costea Peter, Corina Georgiana Ungureanu, Constantin Filip Titian, Mircea Diaconu, Valentin Daeanu and Danut Liga.
PSD President Victor Ponta said recently that the PSD-UNPR-PC Alliance seeks to get 35 percent of the votes in the Euro-parliamentary elections. Topping the Alliance list approved by the PSD National Executive Committee in February is incumbent MEP Corina Cretu; second is PSD senator Ecaterina Andronescu and third is Catalin Ivan, a MEP and the PSD spokesman. Coming next are former Communications Minister Dan Nica, former SME Minister Maria Grapini, UNPR Senator Damian Draghici, incumbent MEPs Daciana Sarbu, Ioan Mircea Pascu, Viorica Dancila, the European agriculture commissioner’s deputy chief of Cabinet Sorin Moisa and incumbent MEPs Victor Bostinaru and Claudiu Ciprian Tanasescu.
According to PNL President Crin Antonescu, the Liberals’ goal in the Euro-parliamentary elections is to obtain 25 percent of the votes and he added that in the event the party candidates get less than 20 percent, he will tender resignation as party head. The PNL candidate list includes Norica Nicolai, Adina Valean, Ramona Manescu, Cristian Busoi, Renate Weber, Eduard Hellvig, Mihai Turcanu, Claudia Benchescu, Romeo Stavarache and Andrei Muraru.
On the other hand, the Democratic Liberals’ claims 18 percent of the Romanian voters’ options and plans to get seven or eight MEP’s seats, namely close to 20 percent at the elections for the European Parliament. Topping the Democratic Liberals’ EP candidate list is former Prime Minister Theodor Stolojan, former Justice Minister Monica Macovei as well as MEPs Traian Ungureanu and Marian Jean Marinescu. Also among the 42 PDL candidates are several party mayors from major cities – Gheorghe Falca (Arad), George Scripcaru (Brasov), Dorin Florea (Targu Mures) and Mircea Hava (Alba Iulia).
The UDMR filed its EP election candidate list to the Central Electoral Bureau with the ethnic Hungarians party head Kelemen Hunor attending. MEP Iuliu Winkler is top of the UDMR list, with MEP Sogor Csaba coming second; next are Vincze Lorant-Gyorgy, Hegedus Csilla, Antal Istvan-Lorant and Peter Ferenc.
The People’s Movement Party (PMP) has an electoral score of more than 10 percent, according to MP Elena Udrea, a party member. The PMP candidate list includes MEP Cristian Preda, Siegfried Muresan, Teodor Baconschi, Cristian Petrescu, Daniel Funeriu and Carmen-Mariana Rosu.
First on the PRM list for the EP elections is Corneliu Vadim Tudor, with Teodor-Victor Iovici, Cristian Stanescu, Vasile Popa, Adrian Popescu, George Tincu and Ionela Alina Alupoaei coming next, while the PP-DD lists includes founding President Dan Diaconescu, party leader Simona Man, Diana Voiculescu, Liviu Neagu and Radu Orzata.
The Civic Force filed to the Central Electoral Bureau a list of candidates for the Euro-parliamentary elections with 41-years-old average age, according to party head Mihai Razvan Ungureanu. He is first on the candidate list, which also features Diana Pavelescu, the Secretary-General of the Professional Wine Tasters Association, Professor Mihaela Nicolau, Adriana Radu and Vlad-Tudor Alexandrescu.
The New Republic Party is joining the EP election race with party chairman Mihail Neamtu, Romanian-born U.S. citizen George Mioc, party senior leader Stefan Bargaoanu, Corneliu-Dan Berari, Victor Ciumac and Andrei-Catalin Rosetti.
The PNTCD candidates heading the party list for the EP polls are party chairman Aurelian Pavelescu, MEP Sebastian Bodu, Maria Stavrositu, Gheorghe Iancu, Nelu Neacsu and Valentin Moldovan. Pavelescu said on March 23 that the PNTCD seeks to get at least 5 percent at the EP polls.
PDL, in top position on ballot papers
The sequence of the electoral contenders on the ballot papers is as follows: PDL, PMP, UDMR, the Alliance of the PSD-UNPR-PC, PNL, PRM, the Farmer’s National Alliance; the Social Justice Party; the New Republic Party; the Green Party; the Civic Force Party, the Romanian Ecologist Party; the Socialist Alternative Party; the Christian Democrat National Peasants’ Party; the People’s Party – Dan Diaconescu, following the independent candidates.
Romania held its first European Parliament elections on November 25, 2007; the Romanian MEPs thus elected served only about two years, since the polls were organised half-way into the five-year EU legislature’s term.

Leave a Reply