36.5 C
July 2, 2022

Romanian MEPs to start term today

The new European Parliament will meet for the first time in a plenary session in Strasbourg.

The 33 new Romanian MEPs will start their mandates today during the constitutive session of the European Parliament. The Romanian politicians that have been elected MEPs are the first generation of Romanian MEPs that will have a full five-year mandate. Romania had previously sent representatives to the European Parliament but their mandate was incomplete, lasting for only two years. The MEPs will win approximately EUR 7,000 per month. Two thirds of Romania’s new MEPs come from the PSD and the PD-L. PSD tops the list with 11 MEPs, being followed by PD-L with 10 MEPs. Nevertheless, PD-L will count on Elena Basescu’s mandate too so it will claim the first place.

UDMR will send three MEPs, in a tie with PRM which had no representative during the previous EP elections. 6 of the PSD’s MEPs are starting their second mandates. The list includes Adrian Severin, Rovana Plumb, Daciana Sarbu and Ioan Mircea Pascu. The Democrat-Liberals have four experienced MEPs headed by Theodor Stolojan, but they also have four new ones such as Former Justice Minister Monica Macovei, Presidential advisor Cristian Preda and journalist Traian Razvan Ungureanu. In the case of PNL the only new name is that of Norica Nicolai, with the rest starting their second mandates: Adina Valean, Renate Weber, Ramona Manescu and Cristian Busoi. Of UDMR’s three MEPs, Laszlo Tokes and Sogor Csaba are about to start their second mandates. PRM will send three new MEPs to Brussels: Corneliu Vadim Tudor, Gigi Becali and Dan Claudiu Tanasescu.

The approximately 500 million citizens of the EU will be represented within the European Parliament by 736 MEPs from 27 European states. According to the provisional data, the European Parliament will have 478 male MEPs and 258 female MEPs (35 per cent compared to 31 per cent in March 2009) elected through universal suffrage. The MEPs come from 165 national parties and will form several political groups. The constitutive session of the European Parliament is mainly dedicated to electing the Parliament’s leadership structures and to internal organization. According to the Procedural Regulations of the EP, the constitutive session will be opened by Hans-Gert Pottering, the president that is at the end of his mandate. Under his presidency only debates on the election of the President or the verification of prerogatives can take place.

The President of the European Parliament will be elected through four secret rounds of voting will take place in the first part of the day. The first three rounds will be based on the absolute majority principle, while the last round will be based on the simple majority principle. Next the European Parliament’s Vice-Presidents will be elected on a common ticket. They will be elected in the first round with an absolute majority, within the limit of the 14 seats and in the order of the number of votes won. The mandates of both the President and the Vice-Presidents have a fixed period of two and a half years.

Anniversary of 30 years since the first EP elections

The European MEPs have celebrated on Monday evening in Strasbourg 30 years since the first direct European elections. On this occasion the European Parliament organized a classical music concert that took place in front of the Louse Weiss (LOW) building of the European Parliament headquarters in Brussels. The concert was given by the symphonic orchestra of the Strasbourg Philharmonic, accompanied by the ‘Petits Chanteurs’ chorus. The orchestra played Giuseppe Verdi’s Force of Destiny and Ludwig van Beethoven’s Ode to Joy, the latter being the European Anthem. The European flag was hoisted by the members of Eurocorps during that time.

Related posts

Ponta criticizes Head of State’s foreign policy


Nastase does not obtain reduction of sentence in ‘Quality Trophy’ case

Nine O' Clock

Macovei demands November 16 referendum on restricting immunity of representatives

Nine O' Clock