29.2 C
June 25, 2022

Opera anniversary show ‘Giselle’

The Bucharest National Opera continues the series of shows in the honour of Romanian opera and choreography personalities who have contributed during their careers to the establishment of the reputation of the country’s prime opera house, with the ballet company of the prestigious institution announcing the second anniversary event of the season, dedicated to prima-ballerina Doina Acsinte – ‘Giselle’, Thursday night.

‘Giselle’ was premiered last season, on May 2, in a directorial adaptation by Mihai Babuska. ‘Giselle’ is choreographed by Jules Perrot, Jean Coralli and Marius Petipa, the stage design is signed by Adriana Urmuzescu, and the musical director is conductor Ciprian Teodorascu. Very talented ballet dancers of the Bucharest National Opera will perform on November 5: Oana Popescu, Vlad Toader and Virgil Ciocoiu.

Doina Acsinte graduated the ‘George Enescu’ Arts Secondary School, received a scholarship from the Moscow Grand Theatre School of Ballet and was the prima-ballerina and founding member of the ‘Oleg Danovski’ Classical and Contemporary Ballet Company of Constanta.

She has performed lead parts in major ballets of the international repertoire: ‘Chopiniana’ (M. Fokine), ‘The Nutcracker’ (Tilde Urseanu), ‘Swan Lake’ (O. Danovski, M. Petipa, L. Ivanov), ‘Giselle’ (M. Petipa, V. Marcu), ‘Don Quixote’ (V. Marcu), ‘Spring Fest’ (A. Mezincescu), ‘Carmen’ (O. Danovski), ‘The Sleeping Beauty’ (M. Petipa, V. Marcu).

As soloist of the ‘Orion Balet’ company, she has performed contemporary dance parts choreographed by Sergiu Anghel: ‘Seasons’, ‘Missa Prophana’, ‘Barococo Party’, ‘Nostalgia’, ‘Dream in the Dream’ and ‘Fragmentarium’, being one of the few ballerinas to have approached such a multitude of choreographic genres.

Related posts

Ukraine wins Eurovision, Russia wins “Voice of the World”

Nine O' Clock

Over 200 works by Salvador Dali, exhibited at Cantacuzino Castle

International Francophone Film Festival in Namur: “Aferim!” wins Golden Bayard for best picture