22 C
June 28, 2022

Liberals keep the same Parliament leaders

Liberal senators yesterday decided not to change the current configuration of leading jobs in their parliamentary group and the Permanent Bureau. National Liberals head Calin Popescu Tariceanu confirmed yesterday he would be keeping his position as head of the Chamber of Deputy’s liberal group, two changes were made, as Adriana Saftoiu became vice-leader and George Dumitrica secretary. Tariceanu also said the commissions will be lead by the same people: Paul Vicotr Dobre in the Labor Commission, Relu Fenechiu in the IT Commission. Initially rumours had it that Liberal head Crin Antonescu will not retake the lead for the liberal senators’ group, after abandoning during the election campaign. But yesterday the confirmed group leader was Puiu Hasotti, while his colleague Teodor Melescanu will stay vice- president of the Senate. The defense committee commission job is going to object to negotiations with the Liberal Democrats who would like to appoint Mihai Stanisoara, as head, after he was deprived of a ministerial seat.

Thus, Puiu Hasotti will stay PNL senators’ leader, secretary being appointed Cornel Popa, while in the Senate’s Permanent Bureau, the liberals are represented by vice- president Melescanu and quaestor Dan Radu Rusanu.

Liberal sources had launched the idea that Puiu Hasotti and Crin Antonescu had come up with a deal after the PNL meeting in Poiana Brasov, so the party leader was to take on the Senate group leadership. According however to an interior disposition from within the liberal senators’ group, no liberal MP could cumulate two leading position in the system. Thus, Melescanu is about to lose his leading job in the Defence Commission, in favour of an alleged exchange with the PDL.

Related posts

Secretary of State Arafat doesn’t rule out the prolongation of the emergency state in Romania by another month


CSM to meet U.S. embassy representatives

Nine O' Clock

Nicolaescu: ‘For the IMF, I prepare a calendar of changes regarding Law 95’

Nine O' Clock