3.3 C
December 2, 2020

Restrictions continue for Romanian workers in the EU

Nine EU member states continue to impose labour restrictions on Romanian nationals three years after the country’s accession to the bloc. The measures are also applied by four non-EU states in Europe, Money.ro reports quoting a EURES document. The nine member states still requiring work permits from Romanian workers are Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Malta, Great Britain and the Netherlands. Romanians who wish to work in Austria, fro example, still need to have their prospective employer obtain a work permit for them. Under the new rules, work permits may be issued for construction, automotive workers or to cooks and waiters. A Belgian employer who intends to hire a Romanian citizen must apply for a work authorisation for him/her with competent authorities. Between Germany and Romania there are three bilateral agreements on workforce mobility. In Ireland, apart from the work permit, a Romanian worker also needs to get registered with the national social services. Other European countries imposing employment restrictions on Romanians are Norway, Liechtenstein, Iceland and Switzerland. In Switzerland, a Romanian may only be hired if the vacancy cannot be filled by a local or by a national of other EU member states.

Related posts

Romania, to activate EUSF aid for losses sustained this winter

Nine O' Clock

Negotiations for the privatisation of Oltchim to start within days

Nine O' Clock

Pullman Hotel, put on sale in January, for EUR 20 M

Nine O' Clock