34.1 C
July 3, 2022

Who are the new ministers?

ECONOMY MINISTER IOAN ARITON, born in 1956, is a trained economist. He has had various public offices in Sibiu, including as a prefect and member of the local council. He is now a Senator and leader of the Democrat Liberal Party’s branch in Sibiu. His name was mentioned in a financial scandal related to Petrom Sibiu losses, but he was cleared of any suspicions.

FINANCE MINISTER GHEORGHE IALOMITIANU, born in 1959, is an expert accountant, financial specialist and economics professor, representing a Brasov constituency in the Chamber of Deputies, on behalf of the Democrat Liberal Party. He was vice president of the chamber’s budget, finance and banks committee before being named finance minister.

TRANSPORT MINISTER ANCA BOAGIU, born in 1968, held this position before in 2000. She was also minister of European integration in 2005-2007. In the current Parliament tenure, 2008-2012, she is a Bucharest senator on behalf of the ruling Democrat Liberal Party. Between 2000 and 2008, she served two consecutive terms as a deputy, for the Democrat Party.

AGRICULTURE MINISTER VALERIU TABARA, born in 1949, held the agriculture portfolio before in 1994-1996, in the Nicolae Vacaroiu cabinet. He’s a trained agronomist. He was leading member and president of the Romanian National Unity Party until 2002, when he joined the Democrats. Tabara has been a member of Parliament, representing Timis County, since the early 1990s.

LABOUR MINISTER IOAN BOTIS, born in 1967, is a trained engineer and member of the Chamber of Deputies for PDL Bistrita Nasaud. Between 2001 and 2004, he was deputy mayor in Bistrita, but for the Social Democrat Party. Before being named labour minister, he was vice president of the Chamber of Deputies’ committee for labour and social protection.

COMMUNICATIONS MINISTER VALERIAN VREME, born in 1963, is a member of the Chamber of Deputies on behalf of PDL Bacau, vice president of the chamber’s IT&C committee. A graduate of the Iasi Electro-technical Faculty, with several law initiatives in the field, he was previously a member of the National Liberal Party before joining PDL.

Related posts

PSD: Legislation on 112 emergency phone number to be urgently amended


Bucharest City Hall could return to former HQ building in September

Consolidation of the US-Romania strategic partnership tops the agenda of Assistant Secretary Victoria Nuland in Bucharest

Nine O' Clock