0.4 C
November 25, 2020

Three share Nobel Prize for economics

Two Americans and one British-Cypriot citizen were awarded the 2010 Nobel Prize in economic sciences, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announced in Stockholm Monday, CNN reports. The Nobel prize went to Peter Diamond of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Cambridge, Mass.; Dale Mortensen of North­western University in Evanston, Ill.; and Christopher Pissarides of the London School of Economics and Political Sciences. The three received the prize for research on so-called “search frictions” – analyzing how economic policy affects unemployment. Their theories “help us understand the ways in which unemployment, job vacancies, and wages are affected by regulation and economic po­licy,” said the academy in a statement.

Related posts

Egyptians protest military leadership

Nine O' Clock

State of emergency declared in Libyan capital

Nine O' Clock

Earthquakes rock Christchurch, New Zealand

Nine O' Clock