3.8 C
November 30, 2021

Russia and Qatar to host 2018, 2012 FIFA World Cup

Russia has won the race to host the 2018 FIFA World Cup. After evaluating the competing bids in Zurich on Thursday, the 22 members of the FIFA Executive Committee chose Russia as host nation for the tournament in eight years’ time, Sepp Blatter, FIFA President announced on Thursday night. England, Netherlands and Belgium, Spain and Portugal, and Russia all submitted bids for the right to stage the 2018 finals.
The bid for 2022 FIFA World Cup was won by Qatar, which was selected over countries such as Australia, United States, South Korea and Japan.

The final presentations and the announcement of the host nations for the 2018 and 2022 FIFA World Cups was one of the biggest media events ever seen in Switzerland. Some 70 TV stations reported live from the official announcement at Zurich Exhibition Centre, where around 1,000 reporters from all over the world also covered the event.

Related posts

Romanian national assaulted by Hungarian customs officers


European Leagues review: Barcelona and United close in

Nine O' Clock

Adrian Mutu trains alongside Fiorentina teammates