26.8 C
September 18, 2021

Becker backs Nadal or Vettel to win Laureus World Sportsman of the Year Award

The world’s top sporting stars are set to battle it out for the 2011 Laureus World Sportsman of the Year Award, arguably the most prestigious sporting accolade on the planet. World tennis number one Rafael Nadal, cricketing legend Sachin Tendulkar and Formula One world champion driver Sebastian Vettel are all main contenders. Meanwhile, the world’s best footballers, such as Diego Forlan, Andres Iniesta and Lionel Messi, will each be hoping to become the first ever team player to win the individual Laureus Award. Organisers of the 2011 awards – which recognise sporting achievement during 2010 – will announce the final six nominees as voted by the Laureus Media Selection Panel, in early January. The eventual winner will be chosen by the Laureus World Sports Academy and will be named during a televised ceremony in Abu Dhabi on February 7.

Related posts

Ski Jumping: Takanshi wins premiere in Rasnov

Nine O' Clock

Fiorentina striker Mutu fails drugs test


Russian men set world record in 800 free relay