-0.7 C
January 17, 2022

McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton dismisses Red Bull as ‘just a drinks company’

Lewis Hamilton has dismissed last year’s Formula One world champions Red Bull as just a ‘drinks company’ and claimed McLaren and Ferrari will do everything in their powers to reassert their dominance of the sport, metro.co. uk informs.

Red Bull won the constructors championship last year, with their driver Sebastian Vettel also becoming the youngest-ever Formula One champion.

McLaren have experienced an unhappy testing period ahead of the start of the new season, but boss Martin Whitmarsh claims the team have now made ‘dramatic changes’ to their MP4-26 car just days ahead of the Australian Grand Prix. Hamilton has already started a war-of-words with his rivals before the first race, dismissing Red Bull’s changes of dominating Formula One. ‘I am 100 per cent certain that neither McLaren nor Ferrari will ever let that happen,’ he said. ‘They [Red Bull] have not been there as long as our teams. Our teams have got status they would like to keep. ‘For many, many years it has been McLaren and Ferrari at the front and now we have got a new team that has come and knocked us off the top. But I am really certain that either team will do absolutely everything in their power to make sure they can remain at the top. ‘Red Bull are not a manufacturer, they are a drinks company. It’s a drinks company versus McLaren/Ferrari history. The Formula One season kicks off in Australia at the weekend after the original opening grand prix in Bahrain was cancelled due to mounting civil unrest.

Red Bull Renault: Sebastian Vet­tel (D), Mark Webber (AUS); McLaren Mercedes: Lewis Ha­milton (GB), Jenson Button (GB); Ferrari: Fernando Alonso (ESP), Felipe Massa (BR); Mercedes: Michael Schumacher (D), Nico Rosberg (D); Renault: Nick Hei­dfeld (D), Vitaly Petrov (RUS); Wi­lliams Cosworth: Rubens Barri­chel­lo (BR), Pastor Maldonado (VEN); Force India Mercedes: Adrian Sutil (D), Paul di Resta (GB); Sauber Ferrari: Kamui Kob­a­ya­shi (JAP), Sergio Perez (MEX); To­ro Rosso Ferrari: Sébastien Bue­mi (SUI), Jaime Alguersuari (ESP); Team Lotus Renault: Jarno Trulli (ITA), Heikki Kovalainen (FIN); HRT Cos­worth: Narain Karthi­keyan (IND), To­nio Liuzzi (ITA); Virgin Cos­worth: Timo Glock (D), Jérôme d’Ambrosio (BEL).

Related posts

Champions League: Milan keep Barcelona at bay

Nine O' Clock

Chiriches to sign 5 years deal with Tottenham

Nine O' Clock

Romanian Television TVR 1 broadcasts today