Myanmar swears in new president

Myanmar’s former Prime Minister Thein Sein has been sworn in as the country’s new president, marking the end of the military body that has governed the Asian nation for decades, state-run Myanmar Radio reported Wednesday, quoted by CNN. Tin Myint Oo and Sai Muak Kham will serve as vice presidents. The president named 30 ministers and 39 deputy ministers to his government, according to state-run radio. In February, Myanmar convened its first parliament in more than two decades in the capital, Naypyidaw.

Related posts

Aurescu urges Hungary to observe European legislation in the case of former MP Marko Attila

Nine O' Clock

Author of Israel-Hamas report would reconsider findings


Obama reportedly seeks up to USD 4 trillion in cuts

Nine O' Clock

Leave a Comment