1.4 C
December 1, 2022

Victor Carrey’s “The Runaway” wins NexT trophy

The Spanish production “The Runaway”, directed by Victor Carrey, won the NexT Trophy, in the awards gala of the eponymous Short and Medium-length Film Festival, which took place on Sunday evening at Bucharest’s Scala Cinema, Mediafax reports.

The Best Director Award went to Ariel Keliman, for “Deeper than Yesterday” (Australia), while the “Andrei Toncu” Best Sound Design Award went to Benedikt David and Ina Nikolow, for “Clandestine Workshop” (Austria/Argentina). Special mentions were awarded to the productions “Diane Wellington” (France), directed by Arnaud des Pallieres, and “Categorie grea” (Heavyweight – Romania), by Olivia Caciuleanu.

“Apele tac” (Silent River), by Anca Miruna Lazarescu, was voted the best Romanian short-reel film. The same production won the Public’s Choice Award for a Romanian film, while the corresponding distinction for the Best Foreign Film was awarded to “The Chronoscope”, by Andrew Legge.
At the same time, during the gala, ten prizes were awarded to spectators, by a draw, and Andreea Mihalcea was designated the winner of the film criticism competition. The latter will become a member of the youth jury in the Clermont-Ferrand International Short-reel Film Festival.

Speaking of film criticism, Ada Solomon paid homage to the critic Alex Leo Serban, who passed away on Saturday morning, in a hospital in Bucharest. Ada Solomon, the director of the festival, received, herself, a special prize from the jury, and some of the reasons provided included the fact “she is endowed with emotional intelligence” and “she is simply awesome”.

Related posts

Caranfil’s ‘Closer to the Moon’ to open Making Waves festival

Nine O' Clock

Mireille Mathieu, Metal All Stars and Suie Paparude in concerts in March in Bucharest

Nine O' Clock

Exhibition celebrating Alexandru Ioan Cuza at MNIR

Nine O' Clock