15.4 C
September 25, 2021

Romanian and Bulgarian workers on EU states labour markets from 2014

Ten EU member states want to wait until 2014 before completely opening up gates for the Romanian and Bulgarian citizens, Austrian Labour minister Rudolf Hundstorfer said, for AFP, quoted by HotNews. Although Hundstorfer did not name the countries that plan to keep their labor market closed, it’s clear he referred to the ten countries that already have restrictions in force: Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxemburg, Malta, the Netherlands and Great Britain.

The accession treaty of Romania and Bulgaria, who joined the EU in 2007, reads that EU member states need to give up freedom of movement restrictions for workers as of January 2012. However, member states can request a supplementary extension for two years if they prove that their internal labour market is threatened. On Sunday, Germany and Austria opened their labour market to the countries that joined the European bloc in 2004. Meanwhile the European Commission intends to launch an investigation on the initiative of the Dutch government to tighten the conditions under which they are granted work permits for Romanian and Bulgarian workers.

Related posts

Millennium Bank posts 9 pc up operating income


Gas invoices artificially increased, following a recipe patented in France


Matteo Patrone appointed EBRD director for Romania

Nine O' Clock