Ten EU states extend work restrictions to 2014

After the Austrian interior minister announced Tuesday that ten EU members – the UK, Ireland, Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands and Malta  – maintain work restrictions for Romanian and Bulgarian citizens until 2014, “Le Matin” online reported that work access remains restricted in Switzerland too, at least by late May 2014. According to the same source, Switzerland could push the restriction further by another two years, to 2016, in case of serious labour market disruptions.

The said states should have lifted work restrictions at the end of this year, yet, the Austrian interior minister said that they had announced their option for the transition period to only end in late 2013, before opening the labour market for Bulgarians and Romanians. Social-Democrat Euro Deputy Corina Cretu called on the European Commission to present its stand on the risk of possible disruptions on the labour market in those countries, given the Treaty of Accession of Romania to the EU stipulates work restrictions only being maintained until the end of 2013.

Related posts

Next EU summit to focus on jobs, says EU president Van Rompuy

Nine O' Clock

John Paul II beatification could be possible in 2011


4 Nato troops killedin Afghanistan


Leave a Comment