22.3 C
August 17, 2022

Ambassador nominees heard by MPs

Parliament’s joint foreign affairs committees yesterday began hearing the 17 new ambassadors nominated by the Foreign Affairs Ministry, according to Mediafax. MPs heard the nominated envoys for Portugal (Vasile Popovici), Azerbaijan (Daniel Cristian Ciobanu), Turkey (Radu Onofrei), Morocco (Simona Mariana Ioan), Norway (Daniel Ionita) and Bosnia Herzegovina (Filip Teodorescu). The other envoys will be heard on June 8 and June 15. By the time ‘Nine O’Clock’ went to print, the joint committees had approved the nomination of Popovici and Ciobanu. During the hearing, Popovici told MPs that one of his main priorities in Portugal will be to obtain Lisbon support for Moldova’s EU accession among the group of Balkan states. Ciobanu, in his turn, said he would focus on strengthening Romanian business presence in Azerbaijan.

Related posts

Basescu in Berlin

Nine O' Clock

MAI presented its activity report for 2011 yesterday

Nine O' Clock

PM Ponta presents budgetary resources in state of the nation speech

Nine O' Clock