17.6 C
March 23, 2023

Blues for a Friend

Tonight, starting 7:30pm, the ARCUB hall will host a charity concert to raise funds for one of the major jazz musicians in Romania, Corneliu Stroe. The concert is organized at the initiative of important jazz, blues, folk and rock musicians, close friends of Corneliu Stroe, as a mark of appreciation, recognition and solidarity with the artist who is, currently, battling severe health problems.

The line-up includes Ovidiu Lipan Tandarica, AG Weinberger, Harry Tavitian, Mircea Baniciu, Marius Popp, Mike Godoroja, Marius Mihalache, Vasile Seicaru, Stelu Enache and Roxana Stroe.

Corneliu Stroe is an emblematic figure of Romanian jazz and one of the major promoters of the genre. One generation of jazz-lovers after another had the chance to savour his music – he was one half of the celebrated free and jazz and contemporary music duo Creative, alongside Harry Tavitian, with whom he took part in numerous jazz festivals; in 1986, he was, alongside Tavitian, Weinberger and Rotaru, one of the founding members of the first blues band in Romania – The Transylvanian Blues Community; he has collaborated with Ovidiu Lipan, Jazzographics, Aromanian Ethno Band (Stroe, Stelu Enache, Mircea Cazan), he participated in FMM Sines – Festival Musicas do Mundo, Portugal, alongside Mike Godoroja & Blue Spirit, Stelu Enache, Fanfara Zece Prajini, Vasile Seicaru, Puiu Pascu, Johnny Raducanu, Alexandru Andries, AG Weinberger and, last, but not least, his daughter – Roxana Stroe – Foxy Lady Band – the only female blues guitarist in Romania.

Tickets can be purchased from www.ticketfan.ro and from the Arcub Hall’s secretary office (14 Batistei Street, tel. no. 021/319.26.90/91).

Related posts

Angela Gheorghiu at Moscow Bolshoi Gala

Nine O' Clock

Romanian Culture Day celebrated in Berlin with “doine” and traditional songs.Famous songs touching the hearts of all Romanians will be performed by Oana Catalina Chitu and Dejan Jovanovic

Actress Ileana Stana Ionescu will receive the Life Achievement Gopo Award