11.4 C
May 26, 2020

Opposition, Majority same number of seats in the Senate

Senators  Iosif Secasan, Democratic Liberal Party  (PDL), and Cezar Magureanu, National Union for the Progress of Romania (UNPR), announced yesterday’s plenum session their resignation from the respective parties, which leaves the ruling coalition with 66 senators, a number similar to their opposition counterparts, and results in the former losing the Senate quorum.Senator Iosif Secasan announced he would join the National Liberal Party (PNL) legislative group. Secasan a former senator of Caras-Severin, won his Senate seat on the  PDL ticket.In his turn, Senator Cezar Magureanu said he stepped down as deputy leader of the Progressive Group, and will continue his legislative activity as an independent. He was senator of Giurgiu, also elected on the PDL ticket.Magureanu becomes the second independent senator, after Mircea Geoana, who was excluded from the Social Democratic Party (PSD) last autumn. The two resigners still carry political weight considering their being instrumental to Senate quorum being reached with respect to both session attendance and the passage of  organic laws.

Related posts

‘Romania will convey the full support for the eastern partnership’


European Parliament rejects EUR 960 billion budget

Nine O' Clock

PSD: We reached no decision regarding dismissal

Nine O' Clock

Leave a Comment