28.4 C
August 1, 2021

Two Democrat Liberals MPs join the National Liberal Party

MPs Gheorghe Hogea and Valentin Rusu (Caras-Severin County) announced yesterday in Parliament that they will leave PDL for PNL. Rusu and Hogea made no other comments. At the end of March, Sorin Frunzaverde, a founding member of the Democrat Party, left PDL and joined PNL, being set to run for President of the Caras-Severin County Council as an USL candidate. Moreover, Sorin Frunzaverde was elected Vice President of PNL on April 7. Sorin Frunzaverde’s example was followed by a series of mayors from Caras-Severin and by Senator Iosif Secasan. Mircea Toader, leader of PDL MPs, stated on April 2 that he did not receive any resignation request from the two MPs, pointing out that he talked with them and they told him that they are still thinking about what to do. PSD President Victor Ponta stated yesterday during his meeting with the Parliamentary groups making up USL within the Lower Chamber that the period of transfers from the ruling power to the opposition has to stop, underlining that the two MPs were allowed to join USL after a thorough analysis. Speaker of the Lower Chamber Roberta Anastase stated yesterday that the two MPs are colleagues she appreciates, pointing out that she is sorry the two took this decision.

Related posts

Ponta calls prosecutors’ abuses a coup d’etat

Nine O' Clock

Moldova PM asks Romania to step up enforcement of cross border traffic deal


Sorin Oprescu will not run for Bucharest City Hall

Nine O' Clock