24.5 C
September 29, 2022

Econ Min signs two EU financed contracts

Officials of BP and state-owned Azerbaijani concern SOCAR to meet Minister Daniel Chitoiu, late this month.

The Economy Ministry yesterday announced that Minister Daniel Chitoiu had signed two EU financed contracts worth RON 54.81 M aimed at the upgrade of the gas distribution network in Cluj-Napoca, and the construction of a co-generating unit (RON 43.9 M).  The project beneficiaries are: E.ON Gaz Distribu?ie and Pehart Tec (Alba Co). The contracts, to be funded via the Sectoral Operational Program Increase of Economic Efficiency, were signed on Tuesday. Separately, the ministry also informed that Daniel Chitoiu received on May 21 the Ambassador of the Republic of Azerbaijan to Romania,  H.E. Eldar Hasanov. The two officials discussed about the Azerbaijan-Georgia-Romania Interconnector AGRI project of transporting the Azerbaijani natural gas via Georgia across the Black Sea and on to Europe, with the Azerbaijani diplomat proposing the holding in Bucharest of a forthcoming meeting of the ministers in charge of petrol and natural gas of AGRI member countries in order to be examined the aspects regarding the project implementation. This is the context in which officials from the BP company and the state-owned SOCAR will be received by Minister Chitoiu.  The timetable of the selection process of Azerbaijani natural gas transport alternatives to Europe (South East Europe Pipeline (SEEP), Nabucco Vest, TANAP), Romania, thru investor incentives, might become a major hub in the transit of hydrocarbons part of the development of energy relations with Azerbaijan, the EU and the countries in the region.It was also agreed for the 5th session to be held this year of the Romanian-Azerbaijani joint economic-commercial and technical-scientific intergovernmental cooperation Commission at a date to be mutually agreed later on.

Related posts

Emergency rescuers killed in mission, buried to gun salute, scattered flowers from above

Nine O' Clock

‘RO-ALERT’ system to be operational as of this year

Nine O' Clock

Dutch personalities awarded by President Iohannis

Nine O' Clock