26.2 C
July 31, 2021

Mihai Malaimare Jr. receives award from National Society of Film Critics

The cinematographer of “The Master” got the Best Cinematography Award at the National Society of Film Critics Annual Awards Gala.

Romanian Mihai Malaimare Jr., the cinematographer of the 2012 film “The Master”, received the Society of Film Critics Award for Best Cinematography, at the 47th Gala Awards at the Elinor Bunin Munroe Center in New York, Saturday evening, Mediafax reports. Mihai Malaimare Jr. received a similar award late last year from the Boston Society of Film Critics, also for the Paul Thomas Anderson-directed “The Master”, and was a nominee for best cinematography at two other reputed awards – the Satellite Awards and Critics’ Choice Awards. Mihai Malaimare Jr. has cooperated, among others, with director Francis Ford Coppola in the films “Youth Without Youth” and “Tetro”. “The Master” also won the was awarded the Venice 2012 Award for Best Director and for Best Actor in a leading role ex-aequo to Joaquin Phoenix with Philip Seymour Hoffman. “The Master” is the first film directed in five years by director and scenographer Paul Thomas Anderson. A character study film, it is the portrait of an US Marine veteran with a violent behavior, but also of post-World War II America. Rumor has it that it has been inspired by the controversial Church of Scientology, with which almost all of the characters in the film are involved one way or another, although the film is not an analysis of this mediatized religion.“Amour”, directed by Michael Haneke, was the great winner at the National Society of Film Critics Gala Awards Saturday evening, with three awards: for “Best Picture”, “Best Director” (Michael Haneke) and “Best Actress” (Emmanuelle Riva). Briton Daniel Day-Lewis got the “best actor” award for Steven Spielberg’s “Lincoln”. The Best Actor and Best Actress in a Supporting Role” Awards went to Matthew McConaughey (“Magic Mike”) and Amy Adams (“The Master”). Tony Kushner (“Lincoln”) was handed the “Best Screenplay” Award, and “The Gatekeepers” received the Award for Best Documentary. “This Is Not a Film”, directed by Jafar Panahi got the Best Experimental Film Award. The National Society of Film Critics is made up of 61 right-to-vote members – film critics at major daily newspapers in Los Angeles, Boston, New York and Chicago, and reputed magazines including Time, Newsweek and The New Yorker.

Related posts

Music, circus and fairs, during the Days of Bucharest

Nine O' Clock

Christophe Gigaudaut, Conseiller de coopération et d’Action culturelle, Directeur de l’Institut français de Roumanie : L’intimité franco-roumaine

Nine O' Clock

Medieval Knights assault the Ruler’s Court in Bucharest