25.2 C
June 28, 2022

Several ambassadors receive green light from Parliament committees

Iulian Buga, proposed by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MAE) for the position of Romanian ambassador in Washington, on Wednesday received the approval of the Parliament’s Foreign Policy committees. Iulian Buga was recently recalled by President Traian Basescu from the post of ambassador to Ireland, which he occupied since 2009. Previously, he was state secretary with MAE during 2007-2009, ambassador to the Netherlands between 2001- 2007, and coordinated the North America department of MAE during 1999 – 2001.  Iulian Buga also occupied the post of general consul of Romania to Los Angeles, in 1997-1998, while during 1994-1997 he was counselor with the Embassy in Washington. Other diplomats that underwent hearings and received the approval were the proposed ambassadors to Australia – Nineta Barbulescu, Libya – Marin Nicolae, Armenia – Vasile Sorin and Indonesia – Valerica Epure. “They all are career diplomats, and the MPs appreciated how they presented their programmes for the mandates they will hold,” said the chairman of the pertinent committee of the Senate, Petru Filip, quoted by Mediafax. Also yesterday, diplomat Manuela Breazu (Vulpe) received the go-ahead of the Foreign Policy committees of the Parliament for the post of ambassador to Ireland. Manuela Breazu was the Romanian ambassador to Mexico during 2006-2011, as well as to Australia and New Zealand during 1999-2004. Meanwhile, Mihail Florovici, Romania’s ambassador to Montenegro was recalled to Bucharest one day after he contradicted a statement of PM Victor Ponta concerning the Romanians who lost their lives in the accident of Montenegro, which had been identified, Realitatea.net informs.

Related posts

Ponta asks Basescu to prove corruption accusations

Nine O' Clock

ICCJ extends preventive detention measure for Iulian Hertanu, PM Ponta’s brother-in-law, by another 30 days

Nine O' Clock

Prime Minister presents in Parliament priorities of Romania’s Presidency of EU Council