10.9 C
May 18, 2022

Astra Film Festival and Comedy Cluj unveil their winners

The 20th edition of the Astra Film Festival unveiled its winners on Saturday during the award gala. A jury made up of top filmmakers and director such as Cristi Puiu (Romania), Gaby Babic (Germany), Lesedi Oluko Moche (South Africa), Pawel Kloc (Poland), Hussain Currimbhoy (UK), Elena Danilko (Russia), Petr Lom (Canada), Michael Stewart (UK), Cristian Nitulescu (Romania) and Grit Lemke (Germany) evaluated the movies included in five competitional sections. For the first time in the history of this festival, the jury of the EcoCinematogrAFF competitional section consisted of high-school students from Sibiu, guided by the professor and anthropologist Vintila Mihailescu. Thus, Matthew’s Law (directed by Marc Schmidt) won the Astra Film Grand Prize. The Astra award for the best documentary in the international competition went to Dancing Alone (by Biene Pilavci), while the Astra award for the best documentary in the Central & Eastern Europe competition went to Anatomy of a Departure, directed by Serban Oliver Tataru. In the Mayor’s Name (by Anca Hirte) was offered the Astra award for the best documentary in the Romanian competition. The best documentary directed by a students was the movie Clinical Romance (by Elke Margarete Lehrenkrauss). The Astra award for the best documentary in the EcoCinematogrAFF competition, an award granted by a jury made of high-school students, went to Little Land (director Nikos Dayandas). The extraordinarily hunting images and the touching experience provided by the movie Valley of Sighs (directed by Mihai Andrei Leaha, Iulia Hossu, Andrei Crisan) conquered the best image award for a Romanian documentary. The Tanase dossier by Ionut Teianu won the special award for a Romanian documentary.
After nine days filled with screenings of over 130 movies from 35 countries, the Comedy Cluj International Film Festival revealed the winners of its 5th edition also on Saturday. The awards gala took place at the Florin Piersic Cinema Hall in Cluj-Napoca in the presence of a large audience, as well as of the representatives of the local authorities and the partners in this year’s edition. The jury, chaired by Maja Bogojevic, awarded the best movie prize to Paulette (2012), a French production directed by Jérôme Enrico. The movie tells the story of a woman who lives in the Parisian suburbs, having a meager pension. Things change when she starts to sell cannabis. The award for the best direction went to Matteo Garrone for “Reality” (Italy, 2012). The best script award was won by Régis Roinsard, Daniel Presley, Romain Compingt for “Populaire” (France, 2012, by Régis Roinsard). The award for the best leading actor was granted to Ton Kass for the role played in “Matterhorn” (the Netherlands, 2013, director Diederik Ebbinge). The audience award went to “Quartet” (UK, 2012, directed by Dustin Hoffman).
As for the short movie competition, the jury made up of 40 spectators took into consideration the movies included in both sections (the movies directed by students and the independent movies). The best short movie directed by a student was “Chicken for Karl” (Germany, 2012, by Jan Liedtke). The best independent short movie was “Frank-Étienne” (France, 2012, director Constance Meyer). The excellence award was offered to Amza Pellea and his daughter Oana Pellea. The prize bestowed postmortem on Amza Pellea comes in sign of recognition of the entire activity of the great actor and his contribution to the Romanian comedy. The award given to Oana Pellea is offered in sign of gratitude for her courage to follow in the footsteps of her father and for the efforts she has made throughout her career for the Romanian movie and theatre be recognized and praised worldwide.

Related posts

Romania film union members on hunger strike

Nine O' Clock

Iranian Culture Day at Village Museum


Shakira and Manu Chao shows in Bucharest