12.7 C
May 18, 2022

Disparity in Cannes Festival 2014 jury

By   Ioan Lazar in Cannes
Australian Jane Campion, the only female-director who was awarded a Palme d’Or for The Piano), is the president of the jury at the 67th International Film Festival at Cannes (May 14-25, 2014). The jury build-up stirred some comments, related to the higher number of women compared to men (five against four), which might have certain effects in the rankings.
Each personality in the jury is strong so that, this year as well, the work of the jury will not be simple, especially that most of the 18 feature films in the main section are directed by famous figures: Jean-Luc Godard, Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne, Mike Leigh, Ken Loach, David Cronenberg, Atom Egoyan, Michel Hazanavicius. Moreover, it is to be noted that the jury members have a consistent experience regarding Cannes, participating in time in other festivals as well.
At 43 years old, Sofia Coppola for instance has an Oscar for best screenplay (Lost in Translation), present last year at the Cannes with The Bling Ring, which opened the programme at the Un Certain Regard official selection section. In 2006, she entered the official competition with Marie-Antoinette.
Carole Bouquet is a familiar figure of the festival. At 56 years, the actress has an impressive filmography. She worked together with the famous Luis Bunuel for That Obscure Object of Desire (1977) in the main role and James Bond Girl in Rien que pour vos yeux (1981). She also worked with a number of famous directors such as Bertrand Blier, Michel Blanc, Werner Schroetter, Andre Techine or Claude Berri.
Leila Hatami comes from Iran, born in Tehran. She played in Separation by Asghar Farhadi, the movie that won the Golden Bear in 2011.
For the role in Secret Sunshine (2007) by Lee Chang-dong, Jean Do-yeon became the first Korean actress with an award for acting at Cannes, where she was to return in 2010.
Among the men in the jury there is Willem Dafoe, whom we have recently seen in Grand Budapest Hotel by Wes Anderson, and who has played in more than 80 roles. The fourth member (without creating a hierarchy) is Danish filmmaker Nicolas Winding Refn, who was awarded a filmmaking award at Cannes in 2011 for the movie Drive.
This edition’s jury is therefore made up of an appealing range of personalities, seemingly less flamboyant and more restrained.

Related posts

Sci-fi, horror and dance movies, in premier at NexT IFF

Nine O' Clock

Controversial author Michel Houellebecq wins Prix Goncourt


Golden Circle tickets for Bon Jovi concert – sold out

Nine O' Clock