17.5 C
October 1, 2020

EP2014: Final election results

The PSD-UNPR-PC alliance of the Social-Democratic Party (PSD), the National Union for Romania’s Progress (UNPR) and the Conservative Party (PC) won 16 seats in the European Parliament in the May 25 European elections in Romania, spokesman for the Central Electoral Bureau Marian Muhulet announced on Thursday. The National Liberal Party (PNL) won 6 seats, the Democratic Liberal Party (PDL) five seats, the Hungarian Democratic Union of Romania (UDMR) 2 seats, the People’s Movement Party (PM) 2 seats and independent Mircea Diaconu one seat. The MEPs of the PSD-UNPR-PC Alliance are Corina Cretu, Ecaterina Andronescu, Catalin Ivan, Dan Nica, Maria Grapini, Damian Draghici, Daciana Sarbu, Ioan Mircea Pascu, Viorica Dancila, Ionel Sorin Moisa, Victor Bostinaru, Claudiu Ciprian Tanasescu, Doru Claudian Frunzulica, Constantin Laurentiu Rebega, Claudia Tapardel and Andi Lucian Cristea. The seats won by PNL go to Norica Nicolai, Adina Valean, Ramona Manescu, Cristian Busoi, Renate Weber and Eduard Hellvig. PDL will send to the European Parliamen Theodor Stolojan, Monica Macovei, Traian Ungureanu, Marian Jean Marinescu and Daniel Buda. PMP will distribute its two seats to Cristian Preda and Siegfrieg Muresan, while UDMR will give its two MEP seats to Iuliu Winkler and Csaba Sogor. Also in the European Parliament will be independent Mircea Diaconu.
Ponta: Andronescu not to leave for the EP
PSD President Victor Ponta announced Thursday at CExN that Ecaterina Andronescu will not go to the European Parliament, because “there are many battles to fight” at home and she is needed in the Senate. According to Ponta, Andronescu will remain Senator and will continue to head president of the Education Committee in the Senate. The PSD leader also said that Victor Negrescu, no. 17 on the list of PSD-UNPR-PC in the European elections, “will get drunk tonight.” Later on, Andronescu confirmed she gave up the MEP seat, as she is more needed for involving in the Romanian Parliament.
Yesterday, the Central Electoral Bureau handed the election certificates to the candidates declared as elected in the European ballot, the liberals being present alongside their resigning president, Crin Antonescu.

Related posts

Crin Antonescu loses chairmanship of committee for the Constitution’s revision

Nine O' Clock

Razvan Murgeanu, state counsellor at Cotroceni

Nine O' Clock

CSAT’s notification by CSM regarding the magistrates’ check-up seems like a good topic, says President Iohannis

Nine O' Clock

Leave a Comment