12.6 C
May 15, 2021

Ukrainian parliament votes against PM Yatsenyuk’s resignation

Ukraine’s parliament, the Verkhovna Rada, on Thursday voted against the resignation of Prime Minister Arseniy Yatsenyuk. MPs earlier in the day approved legislation the prime minister said was needed to avoid a financial default.
With the necessary 226 votes needed for Yatsenyuk’s resignation, only 16 lawmakers from the Verkhovna Rada submitted their votes of no confidence, while 109 voted against.
Following the voting at the parliament, Yatsenyuk took the floor saying only “Ukraine has never declared default and never will,” Itar-Tass reports.
Yatsenyuk submitted his resignation on July 24 after two parties quit the ruling coalition in the Verkhovna Rada. On July 24, the UDAR party announced its secession from the parliamentary coalition to allow the president to dissolve the Verkhovna Rada (parliament) and announce early parliamentary elections.

Related posts

Palace Museum curator announces key events to commemorate 600th anniversary of Forbidden City


Protests in Egypt, Tunisia, Yemen spark turmoil


Italy boat sinking: Dozens of migrants die off Lampedusa

Nine O' Clock