-0.2 C
January 21, 2021

Commemorative concert marking 25 years since Romanian Revolution on Mozart scores, at Romanian Athenaeum

A commemorative concert marking 25 years since the Romanian Revolution of December 1989 will take place on Sunday, 21 December, from 18:00, in the Grand Hall of the Romanian Athenaeum. The Symphonic Orchestra of the ‘George Enescu’ Philharmonic, conducted by Horia Andreescu, will play ‘Requiem’ by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. The soloists are Silvia Micu, Sidonia Nica, Ionuț Popescu and Marius Boloș.

The concert is organised with the support of the Ministry of Culture and of the Secretariat of State for Churches.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791) died at the age of 35, leaving the ‘Requiem’ unfinished. A disciple of Mozart, Süssmayr, completed the piece ‘Requiem for soloists, choir and orchestra, KV 626’.

‘I must fear nothing no more. I feel in the state of my health that the clock is ticking for me. I am ready to die. I have come to the end before I could enjoy my talent. However, life has been beautiful, career started under so fortunate auspices. But one cannot turn their fate. No one can set a time for living. (…) I close. In front of me I have the Requiem that I mustn’t leave unfinished’, Mozart was confessing in a letter in September 1791, addressed to Lorenzo da Ponte (Mozart, ‘Scrisori’, p.259, Editura Muzicală, Bucureşti, 1968). Mozart died in Vienna, on 5 December 1971.


Related posts

ICR, from Presidency to Parliament

Nine O' Clock

Three Romanian movies selected for Crossing Europe Film Festival Linz

Nine O' Clock

US Gospel choir in free concerts this weekend