2.4 C
January 27, 2023

Mircea Cartarescu won the Austrian State Prize for European Literature

Mircea Cartarescu won the Austrian State Prize for European Literature during a ceremony organized this Monday at Haus fur Mozart in Salzburg. The event was opened by Dr. Helga Rabl-Stadler, manager of the Salzburg Festival, and Dr. Wilfried Haslauer, Governor of the Salzburg land. Dr. Josef Ostermayer, the Federal Minister of Arts, Culture, Constitution and Media offered Mircea Cartarescu the distinction for lifetime achievement and the international acknowledgement he enjoyed. The moment was followed by an acclaim held by Ernest Wichner (translator and manager of Literaturhaus Berlin). In his receiving speech, Mircea Cartarescu declared: “At no time have I abandoned (…) my artistic convictions and my attachment to my roots – European art.”

The award ceremony was attended by Her Excellence Silvia Davidoiu, Romania’s Ambassador to the Republic of Austria, Sergiu Nistor, Presidential adviser and Irina Cornisteanu, manager of the Romanian Cultural Institute in Vienna. Also, the event was attended by Herbert Ohrlinger, manager of the Paul Zsolnay Publishing House.

“Mircea, the story teller is remarcably anchored in European spirit; his vision on the world knows no strict European limitations yet, even if, by a tendency towards universality, his novel writing is profoundly European from a cultural point of virw. It is not just that his novel was conceived in Amsterdam, Berlin, Vienna and at Solitude Castle in Stuttgart, but it also visits New Orleans and the Dutch North coast, real and fantastic destinations, caves and underground palaces and even the micro-structures of the human body”. (Excerpt from the acclaim by Ernest Wichner)

Last autumn, Mircea Cartarescu had held a promoting tour in German-language regions with his last volume of the “Blinding” Trilogy, “Die Flügel / The Right Wing” (translated by Ferdinand Leopold), organized by Paul Zsolnay Publishing House in partnership with the Romanian Cultural Institute. The trilogy was published by the Austrian Publishing House in the years 2007, 2011 and 2014. For “Der Körper / Corpul” (translated by Gerhardt Csejka and Ferdinand Leopold, 2011), the writer and the translators won in 2012 the International Prize for Literature of Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin. At the beginning of the year 2015, Mircea Cartarescu also won the Prize for European Understanding in the opening of the Leipzig Book Fair.

Related posts

Work-in strike at National Library of Romania continues

Nine O' Clock

Scholarships and decorations awarding ceremonies at the Royal Palace; Royal Concert dedicated to the support of young artists


“When Violin Meets Guitar” Concert