9.7 C
April 18, 2021

Plenum vote on Romanian Television Company’s Board.President Iohannis proposes Christel Topescu, PM Ciolos wants George Orbean

The parliamentary groups’, presidency’s and government’s nominations for the Board of the Romanian Television Company ended up within the joint Standing Bureaus of the Lower Chamber and the Senate on Monday, with the proposed Board members set to be heard within the Culture Commissions on Tuesday morning, and the voting to take place within the plenum session in the afternoon.

President Klaus Iohannis sent to Parliament his nominations for the Romanian Television Company’s Board. Thus, Iohannis proposes Christel Topescu, Cristian Topescu’s wife, as permanent member of the Board. Christel Topescu is the sports commentator’s third wife, being 29 years younger. She has been for years a star of the public television channel, coordinator of TVR’s German-language section and producer of the ‘Akzente’ German-language show.

Iohannis’ second nomination is Ana Maria Sandru, for the position of acting member. Sandru is a TVR producer. George Orbean, former project manager at Digi24, is the government’s nomination for the TVR Board.

Here is the full list of nominations made by political parties, according to parliamentary sources quoted by hotnews.ro:

PSD – Irina Radu, permanent member (she is currently interim chairwoman), Doina Gradea, permanent member, Alfred Bulai, permanent member, Elena Anca Dindirica, acting member, Smaranda Vornicu Shalit, acting member, Lucian Romascanu, acting member.

PNL – Ionica Stanciulescu, permanent member, Radu Carp, permanent member, Adriana-Silvia Mesesian, acting member, Cristian Vasile Petcu, acting member.

UDMR – Debreczeni Hajnal, permanent member, Rostas-Peter Istvan, acting member.

UNPR: Ruxandra Garofeanu, permanent member, Savu Catalin Catana, acting member.

ALDE: Valeriu Cristian Hadji-Culea, permanent member, Gheorghe Balasoiu, acting member.

Parliamentary Group of National Minorities: Raico Cornea, permanent member, Andrea-Julika Ghita, acting member.

Romanian Television Company’s employed personnel: Monica Simona Ghiurco, permanent member, Teodor Gabriel Giurgiu, permanent member, Cornel Mihalache, acting member, Luminita Velciu, acting member.

TVR’s Board was sacked in September 2015, after its report was rejected by the plenum. Back then, Irina Radu was appointed President Director General.

The two Chambers’ Standing Bureaus convened on Monday, one of the topics discussed being the exact timetable of hearing the candidates and of the plenum vote, which is expected to take place on Tuesday.



Related posts

Searches at Radio Romania: Board members probed for illegal procurement of tourism services

Nine O' Clock

MediaSind union, in partnership with Agerpres, launches ReStart high-quality journalism project

Nine O' Clock

Re-examination of law regarding slashing of 102 non-fiscal taxes, rejected by deputies

Nine O' Clock