10.1 C
October 22, 2021

The Institute for Public Policies: The current Parliament is the most inefficient in the post-revolutionary history

The current Parliament is the most inefficient in the post-revolutionary history, reveals a study released on Monday by the Institute for Public Policies (IPP), according to which the migration of the Senators and Deputies has reached the record level in this term.

At the date of the IPP monitoring, a total of 2,729 legislative initiatives were submitted in the current legislature, 1,689 (68%) of them being initiated by parliamentarians, and 870 (32%) being initiated by the Government. 49 percent of the parliamentarians’ legislative initiatives were rejected – more than a third continuing to be under the parliamentary procedure – and only 14 percent became laws. In the same period, more than 80 percent of the Government’s initiatives were adopted.

Most of the bills submitted in this term have been initiated in the Chamber of Deputies by Tudor Ciuhodaru (PSD) – 170 bills, of which 8 bills became laws; Ion Melinte (independent) – 145 bills, of which 21 bills became laws, and Petru Movila (independent) – 142 bills, of which 10 bills became laws, while in the Senate, most of the bills have been initiated by Octavian Bumbu (UNPR) – 226 bills, of which 30 bills became laws, Doina Fedorovici (PSD) – 146 bills, of which 36 bills became laws, and Florian Coca (PSD) – 119 bills, of which 23 became laws.

According to IPP, parliamentarians having no legislative initiatives in this term are Sebastian Ghita (PRU), Oana-Niculescu Mizil (PSD), Aurel Nechita (PSD).

IPP underlines that this is “the most inefficient post-revolutionary Parliament, both in terms of the lawmaking activity itself, and in terms of the many problems of integrity/criminal problems of some of the elected persons”.

Besides, the current Parliament is ending its term with 507 parliamentarians, compared to 558 parliamentarians elected in 2012 – 15 percent of the elected persons in the uninominal system in 2012 are not in Parliament for various reasons, most of them due to law problems, being definitively convicted/prosecuted.

Thus, 13 parliamentarians have been definitively convicted, 16 of them have been arrested or prosecuted by DNA, and 6 parliamentarians were declared incompatible. 26 parliamentarians have opted for local positions, while 12 members of the Parliament have resigned, being appointed in other institutions, some of them being prosecuted after their appointment.

Also, IPP shows that parliamentarians’ migration has reached a record level in this term. At the moment of the analysis, 223 parliamentarians, meaning 38 percent of the total, are not affiliated anymore to the parliamentary group/party whose members they were when they were elected in 2012.

The “champions” of the migration in the 2012-2014 term are Deputy Ioan Scheau (a PPDD candidate who became an independent, then joining PSD, PDL/PNL groups, today a PNL candidate), Deputy Diana Tusa (a PNL candidate who became an independent, then joining PDL group which later merged with PNL, becoming an independent again, today a PSD candidate), and Senator Ciprian Rogojan (a PDL candidate who became an independent, joining UNPR later, again an independent, and today an ALDE candidate).

48% of the current parliamentarians candidate again, representing 55% of the PSD candidates, 47% of the PNL ones, 78% of the ALDE parliamentarians and 60% of the UDMR ones. The party having the largest number of candidates at the elections of this year, who weren’t in Parliament until now – PNL (an important part of them being not on eligible seats), while the party with the lowest rate of change at the parliamentary elections of 2016 is ALDE.

Related posts

Badalan and Popescu, suspended jail sentence for abuse of office

Nine O' Clock

Gov’t will assume responsibility for the two-round mayoral elections. . Iohannis:  It is a very appropriate choice, I totally support the Gov’t in this demarche


Vosganian to announce his replacement at helm of Economy Ministry

Nine O' Clock