25 C
September 27, 2021

Mihai Fifor resigns from leadership of investigation committee into 2009 presidential elections, Oana Florea to replace him

Economy Minister Mihai Fifor has informed Parliament’s leadership that he has resigned from the helm of the committee of investigation into the 2009 presidential elections, as a result of the fact he has taken over a Government office.

“In light of Parliament’s Decision No.39 of 11 May 2017 regarding the setting-up of the special investigation committee of the Senate and the Chamber of Deputies meant to verify aspects of the way the 2009 elections were organised and of the outcome of the poll, and taking into account my appointment as Minister of Economy, please note my resignation as Chairman of the special investigation committee mentioned above, starting with June 30, 2017,” reads the document sent by Fifor to Parliament’s Standing Bureaus.

Fifor’s resignation came into force on June 30.

The Standing Bureaus of the Chamber of Deputies and the Senate took note on Wednesday of Senator Mihai Fifor’s resignation from the position of Chairman of the investigation committee into the 2009 presidential elections, following his appointment to the Ministry of Economy.

The Social Democrats will nominate Judicial Committee member Oana Florea as Mihai Fifor’s replacement, parliamentary sources told News.ro.

Before becoming MP, Oana Florea, Fifor’s successor at the helm of the committee, was executive director of the Foundation for the Defence of Citizens Against State Abuses (FACIAS), from 2009 to 2014. The Foundation was established by Dan Voiculescu.

Also on Wednesday, Deputy Prime Minister Marcel Ciolacu informed Parliament’s leadership that he was relinquishing membership of the Delegation of the Romanian Parliament to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe, following the ban stipulated in the Chamber of Deputies’ Regulations.

According to these Regulations, the deputies who are members of the Government cannot hold office in the Standing Bureau, in the committees’ bureaus, cannot be members of Parliament’s delegations to international parliamentary assemblies and cannot be leaders of parliamentary groups.


Related posts

President and MPs excluded from the public workers’ category of the Penal Code

Nine O' Clock

PNL’s Orban: We approved in principle text of censure motion to be tabled around June 20

Nine O' Clock

Constitutional judges decide there is a conflict between Gov’t and President Iohannis because of deferral in appointing ministers. Iohannis obligated to decide on Gov’t reshuffle. CCR: President must issue decrees at once