Simona Halep presented with WTA year-end No. 1 trophy

Romanian tennis player Simona Halep on Sunday has been awarded in Singapore WTA’s year-end number 1 trophy for 2017.

Halep is the 13th player in the history of the rankings who becomes world leader since the inception of computer rankings in 1975.

Halep’s (26) position as no. 1 was sealed after Czech Karolina Pliskova lost in the semi-finals of the BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global on Saturday (Oct 28) to Danish Caroline Woyniacki. Pliskova was the only one who could overtake Halep, provided that he won the title in Singapore.

The 26-year-old reached the top position on October 9, when she became the 25th world leader in the entire history of the WTA rankings and also the first Romania women to reach the spot.

In 2017, the Romanian won a single title, Mutua Madrid Open, but she played in the final of the Grand Slam tournament Roland Garros and also the finals of the tournaments in Rome, Cincinnati and Beijing, and she also participated for the 4th consecutive time in the Champions Tour, held in Singapore, which she left in the group phase.

Halep reached the WTA’s top ten for the first time in January 27 2014, and she stayed there. With her 196 weeks, Halep became the player with the longest time in WTA’s top ten. Ever since the spring of 2014 she stayed in top five, with just nine weeks spent below the first five positions.

Besides the prestigious year-end trophy, Halep also received a diamond ring from the famous jewelry producer Tiffany.


WTA’s year-end number ones’ list:

Chris Evert (USA): 1975, 1976, 1977, 1980, 1981

Martina Navratilova (USA): 1978, 1979, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986

Stefanie Graf (Germany): 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1993, 1994, 1995 (together with Monica Seles)

Monica Seles (Yugoslavia-SUA): 1991, 1992, 1995 (together with Stefanie Graf)

Martina Hingis (Switzerland): 1997, 1999, 2000

Lindsay Davenport (USA): 1998, 2001, 2004, 2005

Serena Williams (USA): 2002, 2009, 2013, 2014, 2015

Justine Henin (Belgium): 2003, 2006, 2007

Jelena Jankovic (Serbia): 2008

Caroline Wozniacki (Denmark): 2010, 2011

Victoria Azarenka (Belarus): 2012

Angelique Kerber (Germany): 2016

Simona Halep (Romania): 2017

Related posts

Women’s handball: HC Zalau in quarterfinals of EHF Cup

Nine O' Clock


Guus Hiddink resigns as Anzhi Makhachkala coach

Nine O' Clock