18.1 C
October 5, 2022

Parliament appoints Florin Mituletu-Buica as head of AEP

The Senate and the Deputies’ Chamber on Wednesday appointed in a joint meeting Florin Mituletu-Buica as head of the Permanent Electoral Authority, after the former head Daniel Barbu resigned.

In a secret vote, 252 MPs opted in favour of Florin Mituletu-Buica and 127 against.

The counter-candidate of Florin Mituletu-Buica, proposed by the Social Democratic Party (PSD), was Marian Muhulet, backed by the parties in the opposition (National Liberal Part, Save Romania Union and People’s Movement Party). The latter collected 127 votes in his favour and 252 against.

Until now, Florin Mituletu-Buica has been the secretary general of AEP and Marian Muhulet the deputy head of this institution.

The AEP head was appointment by government decision by the plenary sitting of Parliament. The AEP head cannot be member of any political party, with 15 days at his disposal to give up this capacity.

He is appointed for 8 years, after which his term in office can be renewed one time.

Daniel Barbu, who held the office of AEP head in 2017 resigned two weeks before invoking personal reasons.

Related posts

PMP hopes Basescu will run in parliamentary elections. Tomac and Steriu want to run in Bucharest

Nine O' Clock

Union Day: President snubs festivities, PM speaks to a deserted Parliament

Nine O' Clock

Constitutional Court clearly states: President’s oath on December 21

Nine O' Clock