7.1 C
January 22, 2021

President Iohannis sends message of support for Maia Sandu alongside six others European leaders

The presidents of Romania, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland and Slovakia have issued a joint statement in support of Moldova’s elected president, Maia Sandu, to be sworn in on Thursday.

“We, the Presidents of Romania, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland and Slovakia, congratulate Ms Maia Sandu on her inauguration as President of the Republic of Moldova. Maia Sandu has received a strong mandate from the citizens of Moldova who are waiting for a series of changes to happen, a more ambitious reform agenda, democracy and closer ties with the European Union,” the statement sent to AGERPRES by the Presidential Administration shows.

The seven heads of state express their “full” support for Maia Sandu and her efforts to strengthen the implementation of reforms, “based on democratic values, fundamental freedoms and the rule of law.”

“We support president Maia Sandu in her efforts to develop a functioning democratic system in the Republic of Moldova that reflects the will of the citizens. We are also willing to share our experience on reforms and the process of European integration, and to contribute thus to the prosperity and well-being of the Republic of Moldova on its way to the European Union,” the statement said.

At the same time, the seven presidents reiterate their “firm” support for the independence, sovereignty and territorial integrity of the Republic of Moldova, as well as for the “European path” chosen by the citizens of the Republic of Moldova.

Related posts

Iohannis- Trump phone conversation focuses on epidemiological crisis and transatlantic relation


ForMin Comanescu: Stability, indispensable premise for Moldova’s continuing reforms

Nine O' Clock

ForMin Melescanu pays official visit to Estonia

Nine O' Clock